Skip to the content

Menu

Cruiser Racing at HISC

Hayling Island Sailing club, although best known for its dinghy racing activities, does promote racing in cruisers. The unrestricted waters of Hayling bay and the Eastern approaches to the Solent provide ideal racing waters for yachts.

HISC runs a Spring into Summer series of Thursday evening “Sundowner” races for members and Chichester Harbour Federated Club members. Visitors and beginners are welcome. The idea is for friendly but competitive races where the emphasis is on getting out on the water and having a go.

There are also three races over Summer Saturdays or Sundays, including a “Get Racing” day where beginners are welcome to come and have a go with help on hand. The season closes with Barts Bash, run by CCRC and the long standing Nab Cup & Sparkes Trophy.

Club events cater for all levels of racing. If your racing experience is limited try to recruit a couple of good dinghy sailors as crew to help you with tactics and sail setting - they will probably enjoy the experience. It is not necessary to strip the boat bare in order to race, as handicaps will assume a reasonable amount of cruising paraphernalia.

Inevitably, however, having a clear out of the unnecessary heavy clutter that accumulates over the years and keeping the bottom free of weed can only help make your boat more rewarding to sail at any time.

Contact: Roy Pine - [email protected]

Cruiser Racing Fixtures 2019

Date Time Event
Thu 18 Apr 19:00 Sundowner Early Series No. 1
Thu 25 Apr 19:00 Sundowner Early Series No.2
Thu 2 May 19:00 Sundowner Early Series No. 3
Thu 9 May 19:00 Sundowner Early Series No. 4
Thu 16 May 19:00 Sundowner Early Series No. 5
Thu 23 May 19:00 Sundowner Early Series No. 6
Thu 30 May 19:00 Sundowner Early Series No. 7
Thu 6 Jun 19:00 Sundowner Early Series No. 8 (Final)
Thu 13 Jun 19:00 Sundowner Late Series No. 1
Thu 20 Jun 19:00 Sundowner Late Series No. 2
Thu 27 Jun 19:00 Sundowner Late Series No. 3
Thu 4 Jul 19:00 Sundowner Late Series No. 4
Thu 11 Jul 19:00 Sundowner Late Series No. 5
Thu 18 Jul 19:00 Sundowner Late Series No. 6
Thu 25 Jul 19:00 Sundowner Late Series No. 7
Thu 1 Aug 19:00 Sundowner Late Series - Final
Sat 5 Oct   Sparkes Trophy Cruiser Open
Sun 6 Oct   Nab Cup Cruiser Open