Skip to the content

Social Sailing

A group of HISC members gather under the banner of HISC Social Sailing on prearranged dates and sail off to various destinations, dine out, have over-night stops sometimes and then return.

Any member of HISC can join. This Cruising Fleet welcomes those lucky HISC members who are able to sail during mid-week. At this time, the waters and Marinas are not so congested or busy and usually everything is much more peaceful and relaxed.

At the beginning and end of the season, short day-trips are made around Chichester Harbour, supporting the local sailing clubs.

During the summer, longer sails are enjoyed as far afield as Poole Harbour. Visits to other, prestigious Sailing Clubs are arranged and many an interesting Pub walk/beach BBQ is planned.

You don't have to have a boat as the boat owners are usually only too happy to take on board spare crews. For cruises in the harbour, dinghies are very welcome to come and all sail together.

For 2020 there is an Annual Subscription of £5 per person, payable at the next event to the Captain or the Treasurer.

Boat owners’ non-member guests are welcome to attend free-of-charge but should be signed in at the Office.

Reminders, alterations and other information about these events will be sent via the weekly HISC Newsletter.

 

Guidelines for Organisers can be found here

Social Sailing Programme 2020

PLEASE REGISTER YOUR INTENTION TO ATTEND ANY OF THESE EVENTS WITH THE ORGANISER INDICATED

Date Time Event
Fri 7 Feb 12:30 Social Sailing - Lunch at HISC
Sat 22 Feb 16:00 Social Sailing - Winter Social Meeting in HISC Dining Room
Fri 28 Feb   Social Sailing - Lunch at Bosham SC - Anthony Penfold
Fri 6 Mar 12:30 Social Sailing - Lunch at HISC
Thu 19 Mar   Social Sailing - Skittles evening at British Legion - Lyn Smith
Fri 3 Apr 11:00 Social Sailing - SGM & Lunch
Fri 24 Apr   Social Sailing - Sail to CYC for Lunch - Judy Cave - HW12:31 HT4.4 Ferry 10:00
Thu 30 Apr   Social Sailing - Sail to Itchenor SC for Lunch - John Beck - HW17:41 HT4.0 Ferry 11:00
Mon 11 May   Social Sailing - Bembridge, Dinner at BHYC - Lyn Smith - HW15:21 HT4.6 Ferry 10:30
Tue 12 May   Social Sailing - Walk to Seaview & Lunch - Gary Gledhill
Wed 13 May   Social Sailing - Port Solent Dinner - Paul Young
Thu 14 May   Social Sailing - Return to HISC
Wed 27 May   Social Sailing - Sail to Haslar & Lunch - John Cook - HW15:30 HT4.4 Ferry 09:30
Sun 7 Jun   Social Sailing - Island Harbour IoW Dinner at Breeze - M.Stewart - HW13.17 HT4.7
Mon 8 Jun   Social Sailing - Newtown Creek Evening BBQ - Gledhills - HW 14:12 HT4.6
Tue 9 Jun   Social Sailing - Yarmouth (own arrangements) HW15:08 HT4.6
Wed 10 Jun   Social Sailing - Poole (or stay in Yarmouth) HW15:58 HT4.4
Mon 22 Jun   Social Sailing - Cowes YH Dinner at ISC - Mike Tong - HW12:12 HT4.5
Tue 23 Jun   Social Sailing – Bucklers Hard Dinner at Master Builders – Mike Tong – HW12:52 HT4.5
Wed 24 Jun   Social Sailing - Dan Bran Pontoon Dinner at RLYC - Mike Tong - HW13:35 HT 4.6
Thu 25 Jun   Social Sailing - Lymington or Poole - Mike Tong - HW 14:23 HT 4.5
Fri 26 Jun   Social Sailing - Return to HISC - Mike Tong - HW 15:15 HT 4.4 Ferry 3pm
Mon 6 Jul   Social Sailing - Coffee & Cake at HISC Dinner at MRSC - Anthony Penfold HW12:09 HT4.6
Tue 7 Jul   Social Sailing - Sail to CYC for Lunch - Judy Cave - HW 12:59 HT 4.6
Wed 8 Jul   Social Sailing - Picnic at East Head - Gary Gledhill - HW 13:46 HT 4.5
Thu 9 Jul   Social Sailing - Sail to Dell Quay for Lunch - Lyn Smith - HW 14:31 HT 4.5
Fri 10 Jul   Social Sailing - BBQ at the Gledhills - Gledhills & Blakes - HW 15:13 HT 4.4
Wed 22 Jul   Social Sailing - Sail to Southsea Marina Lunch at Cafe - Lyn Smith - HW 14:46 HT 4.5
Mon 17 Aug   Social Sailing - Folly for Supper - Margaret Stewart - HW 11:18 HT 4.3 Ferry 09:00
Tue 18 Aug   Social Sailing - Hamble River - Anthony Penfold - HW 11:55 HT 4.5
Wed 19 Aug   Social Sailing - Ocean Village - David & J Archer - HW 12:33 HT 4.7
Thu 20 Aug   Social Sailing - Return to HISC - HW 13:13 HT 4.8
Tue 1 Sep   Social Sailing - Bembridge Dinner at Baywatch - Lyn Smith - HW 12:01 HT 4.5
Wed 2 Sep   Social Sailing - Shepards Cowes Dinner at Marina Resturant - Gary Gledhill - HW 12:35 HT 4.6
Thu 3 Sep   Social Sailing - Yarmouth Dinner at Yarmouth SC - Lyn Smith - HW13:12 HT4.6
Fri 4 Sep   Social Sailing - Return to HISC - HW 13:50 HT 4.6
Fri 18 Sep   Social Sailing - Sail to CYC for Lunch - Judy Cave - HW 13;30 HT 5.0 Ferry 10:30
Mon 21 Sep   Social Sailing - Sail to the Stewarts for Lunch - Ray & Margaret Stewart - HW 15:00 HT 4.7
Wed 30 Sep   Social Sailing - Sail to Itchenor Pub for Lunch - John Beck - HW 11:50 HT 4.6
Fri 2 Oct 12:30 Social Sailing - Lunch at HISC
Fri 6 Nov 11:00 Social Sailing - AGM & Lunch
Fri 4 Dec 12:30 Social Sailing - Lunch at HISC

PLEASE REGISTER YOUR INTENTION TO ATTEND ANY OF THESE EVENTS WITH THE ORGANISER INDICATED ABOVE