HISC Opening Handicap Race - 14 March

News Highlights

RYA sailing coach, Melvyn Cooper, the inspiration and founder of the highly successful HISC Get Racing Club, was named runner up in the 2015 Sports Coach of the Year in Havant last week . . . Launched in April 2014, Melvyn (of Melvyn Cooper Sailing) has been the driving force behind the new Get Racing Club which encourages new sailors to have a go at racing in a fun and informal format at HISC . . . more . . .

The 500 Club February draw has taken place . . . Congratulations to the winners. It's ever so easy to join our 500 Club, and very painless - Please do it now, and thanks . . . more . . .

The second GHC winter talk will take place at 2 pm on Saturday 7 March in the Over 18s bar when HISC’s Marine Manager Mitch Webb will present a helpful, and possibly race-winning, guide to Chichester Harbour tides . . . Both previous GRC participants and regular racers will know how important the tide can be in influencing the race results and Mitch’s presentation could be just the thing to give you that winning edge . . . Don’t miss this vital talk together with the chance for discussion and catch-up in the bar afterwards . . . All welcome . . . more . . .

Cruiser Launch from 2 March

The Marine Department will be starting to put the yachts back in the water from the 2 March, for 2 weeks . . . During this period, we kindly request that you park on the causeway as the car park will be closed whilst the tractor and hoist are moving around the site.

Hayling Rescue is currently at ABC Marine (Pepe's Boat Yard) where she was originally built 15 years ago . . . She is in there for some vital maintenance, mainly getting the hull stripped off to have some badly needed new tubes fitted . . . more . . .

Put a spring in your step and single handedly make a date for coming to the last GODS event of our Winter Season – on Thursday 12 March . . . The talk is by the renowned dinghy sailor, journalist, yachting historian and correspondent in Yachts and Yachting and All at Sea, David Henshall . . . The intriguing title is ‘Seven days that changed sailing’, about the 1965 performance single-hander trials . . . more . . .

If you are visiting the club why not check out the new menus for the Dining Room, Snackbar and main Bar . . . New menus have been posted on the website for Breakfast, Dinner, Children's Early Tea and the Snackbar . . . There is also a new Wine List . . . more . . .

We are experimenting with a new rig on Sandy so bear with us . . . We have switched to Rope to extend its lifetime and we have switched to a buoy that is better at dealing with current. More visible for sailors but also more visible for larger boats to avoid . . . Apologies it’s slightly out of place. It will be moved west at the next opportunity . . . more . . .

You've Got Mail ?

Have you checked your email lately? The club now sends out emails on important club matters to members who have registered their email address with the Office . . . These are not the general chat Yahoo emails but direct emails on specific club matters . . . so check if You've Got Mail ?

The Hayling Island SC 2015 SailRacer Round Hayling Island Windsurfer Race will take place on Good Friday, 3 April. The event will include Open Canoes (OC1) and Stand Up Paddle Boards (SUP) with their own course just off the beach . . . SailRacer will be providing the event website, online entry, GPS tracking and live coverage . . . An event information page has been set on HISC website and on-line entry details etc will be available on the SailRacer event website. more . . .

Throughout HISC website you will find dedicated calendars for the many activities of the club . . . Race fixtures, Open events, Youth race and training fixtures, Social events, Social Sailing and Committee meeting dates . . . All entered and stored, together with the entire website content in one place . . . the HISC website common source database . . . more . . .

The Flagpole Gardeners have been hard at work maintaining are beautiful surroundings . . . The year started with the usual massive prune of the Elaeagnus which grows profusely and flowers with a delicious scent at the end of the year. The pampas was tidied and the roses pruned and finally all the dead leaves cleared . . . There is now a notice which thanks people for not parking in front of the Memorial Stone and, simultaneously, not obstructing the loading area! . . . more . . .

The Open Meetings for the International 14, RS700 and K6 classes will take place at Hayling Island SC over the weekend of the 25 and 26 of April . . . The Int 14 class will be racing for the Hayling Hull . . . Notice of Race and Event Page now available . . . more . . .

A reminder that we have our Annual Cruising meeting coming up at 4 pm on the 14 March. This is a chance for you to catch up with matters that effect the Cruisers at HISC, such as what bow and stern props you'll need to have for next winters layup, what's happening to the hoist, can you catch up with the social sailing program and where are the family cruising weekends going this year? more . . .

Instructors and Assistants Wanted for HISC Youth Training Week 26 – 29 May 2015 . . . If you are interested in teaching the next generation of HISC superstars how to sail please contact Mitch . . . more . . .

We are planning to lay on some Mark Laying Courses over the winter period. These will be shore based and will explain the fundamentals of Mark Laying and the use of GPS . . . We will not be going on the water with this course and there will not be any accreditation by RYA as this will be a HISC specific course. more . . .


Click here for all the Latest News
Racing News
Club Racing

The HISC season Opening Handicap race will take place on Saturday 14 March followed by the first races for the Mar/Apr Series on Sunday 15 March . . . All club fixtures are listed under the Club Racing Fixture menu tab.

Sailing Events
Sat 07 March 2015
    HISC 29er Training 3
    HISC Optimist Training 6
    HISC Tera Training 6
    Intl 420 UK Squad
    Youth Start of Season Party
Sun 08 March 2015
    HISC 29er Training 4
    HISC Optimist Training 7
    HISC Tera Training 7
    Intl 420 UK Squad
Sat 14 March 2015
    Opening Handicap Race
Sun 15 March 2015
    Mar/Apr Series No.1
Sat 21 March 2015
    Feva All Squad
    Saturday Handicap Race 1
Sun 22 March 2015
    Feva All Squad
    Mar/Apr Series No.2
Sat 28 March 2015
    Saturday Handicap Race 2
Sun 29 March 2015
    Mar/Apr Series No.3
Fri 03 April 2015
    SailRacer Windsurf Round Hayling Island
    Vice Commodores Trophy
Sat 04 April 2015
    April Pennant Weekend
    Tera Rust Remover
Sun 05 April 2015
    April Pennant Weekend
    Tera Rust Remover
Mon 06 April 2015
    Easter Open Pursuit Race
    Opi and Tera Race Camp
Tue 07 April 2015
    Opi and Tera Race Camp
Wed 08 April 2015
    Opi and Tera Race Camp
Thu 09 April 2015
    Opi and Tera Race Camp
Fri 10 April 2015
    Opi and Tera Race Camp
Sat 11 April 2015
    Get Racing Club No.1
    Saturday Handicap Race 3
Sun 12 April 2015
    Mar/Apr Series No.4
    Youth A1
Wed 15 April 2015
    Wed Early Series No.1
Sat 18 April 2015
    Saturday Handicap Race 4
    Sprint Event No.1
Sun 19 April 2015
    Mar/Apr Series No.5
    Youth A2
Wed 22 April 2015
    Wed Early Series No.2
Sat 25 April 2015
    Int 14 Hayling Hull OM
    K6 Open Meeting
    RS700 Open Meeting
    Saturday Handicap Race 5
Sun 26 April 2015
    Int 14 Hayling Hull OM
    K6 Open Meeting
    Mar/Apr Series No.6
    RS700 Open Meeting
    Youth A3
Wed 29 April 2015
    Wed Early Series No.3
Sat 02 May 2015
    Saturday Handicap Race 6
Sun 03 May 2015
    May/Jun Series No.1
    Youth B1
Mon 04 May 2015
    Glyn Charles Open Pursuit Race
Wed 06 May 2015
    Wed Early Series No.4
Thu 07 May 2015
    Sundowner No.1
Sat 09 May 2015
    Family Cruising Weekend
    May Pennant Weekend
Sun 10 May 2015
    Family Cruising Weekend
    May Pennant Weekend
Wed 13 May 2015
    Wed Early Series No.5
Thu 14 May 2015
    Sundowner No.2
Sat 16 May 2015
    Fireball Open Meeting
    Get Racing Club No.3
    Merlin Rocket Open Meeting
    Saturday Handicap Race 7
Sun 17 May 2015
    Fireball Open Meeting
    May/Jun Series No.2
    Merlin Rocket Open Meeting
    Youth B2
Wed 20 May 2015
    Wed Early Series No.6
Thu 21 May 2015
    Sundowner No.3
Sat 23 May 2015
    Saturday Handicap Race 8
Club & Social Events
Fri 06 March 2015
    Commodores Dinner
    Social Sailing Lunch
Sat 07 March 2015
    Get Racing Club Winter Talk
    Sailing Committee
    Youth Start of Season Party
Thu 12 March 2015
    GODS - David Henshall
Sat 14 March 2015
    Fitting Out Supper
    House Committee
Fri 20 March 2015
    Ladies Who Lunch
Sat 21 March 2015
    Cruising Committee
    General Committee
Sat 28 March 2015
    RYA Conference
    Training Committee
    Youth Committee
Sun 29 March 2015
    RYA Conference
Sat 04 April 2015
    Get Racing Club Lunch Party
Fri 10 April 2015
    Social Sailing Lunch
Sat 11 April 2015
    House Committee
    Membership Committee
Sat 18 April 2015
    CCRC Dinner
Sat 25 April 2015
    General Committee
Sun 26 April 2015
    Spring General Meeting
Wed 29 April 2015
    Bridge Club
Fri 08 May 2015
    Member Party
Sat 09 May 2015
    Games Night
    New Members Party
Sat 16 May 2015
    House Committee
    Racing Committee
Sat 30 May 2015
    General Committee
Sat 06 June 2015
    Training Committee
    Youth Committee
Sat 13 June 2015
    Sailing Committee
Fri 19 June 2015
    Wedding at HISC
Sat 20 June 2015
    House Committee
    Training Committee
Fri 26 June 2015
    Wedding at HISC
Sat 27 June 2015
    General Committee
Booking Portel

Round Hayling

Youth Start of Season Party

GODS Evening

Start of Season Party

GRC Winter Talks

Joining HISC

Event Sheet

HISC Clothing

Yachts and Yachting

Raymarine Supporting HISC
© Copyright 2015 Hayling Island Sailing Club.